Blogger Hossein Ronaghi Maleki’s Letter To Public Prosecutor Announcing His Hunger Strike

Blogger and human rights activist, Hossein Ronaghi Maleki, in an open letter to Tehran’s Attorney General, criticizes the widespread human rights violations in Iran and the added pressures on the political prisoners and their families.

The full text of the letter by this human rights activist, who now is on a hunger strike, as provided to The Human Rights House Of Iran, is as follows:

Dear Mr. Jafari Dowlatabadi, Tehran’s Attorney General,
With respect and greetings,

I, Sayed Hossein Ronaghi Maleki, Son of Sayed Ahmad, born on July 5, 1985, have previously, in several letters informed your excellency of various matters, such as: My kidney problems, interrogation procedures and verdicts issuance, not providing defendants with the lower court’s initial ruling, the prison conditions and the conditions of prisoners with various ailments, the limbo status of prisoners and the added pressures on the prisoners and their families, the arrests, the solitary confinements, the lack of implementation and adherence to existing laws governing the country.

Today, as I have not seen any resolve to these matters, I have decided to continue my protest in a different manner.

Mr. Jafari-Dowlatabadi,

On the heels of the start of my second year of incarceration (December 12, 2009). To protest the denial of granting a medical furlough for the treatment of my kidney condition, failure to provide needed medical treatment to prisoners in need, such as Dr. Maasom Fardis, the arrests of and the pressures put on the human rights activists, such as Rozhin Mohamadi, the deplorable situations and conditions that has been created for the political prisoners families, and in support of Labor activist, Reza Shahabi who is on hunger strike protesting his uncertain and limbo status in prison, and ultimately the overall violations of the human rights of the political prisoners, I launched a hunger strike as of the evening of Friday, December 9, 2011.

Your excellency, the Attorney General,

After two years of keeping my silence in prison, today, seeing my dire health condition, Reza Shahabi, Dr. Maasom Fardis, and other political prisoners in bad health, I now have to say that we no longer should stay silent in regards to the deplorable conditions of the prisoners and the violations of their human rights.

In any case, my health is at serious risk due to poor conditions of prison and my stay in prison. Therefore, I will now resort to going on a hunger strike, which is the only option available to political prisoners to regain their rights.

I hereby notify you, and all others, that this is my chosen method to protest the before mentioned conditions, and to hereby inform you, and all others, of the deplorable situation of the political prisoners, and to tell you that I am willing to pay any price for it.

Even if it costs me my life.

Respectfully,

Sayed Hossein Ronaghi Maleki
December 12, 2011
Evin prison, Ward 350

Source: RAHANA


One response to “Blogger Hossein Ronaghi Maleki’s Letter To Public Prosecutor Announcing His Hunger Strike

Leave a Reply

