Daily Archives: August 11, 2013

Conversation With Love, A Poem By Rumi

Ghazal #2219 from Divan-e Shams by Molana Jalaledin Rumi

I am a slave to the moon, don’t speak to me of anything other than the moon (the beloved)

Before me, don’t speak of anything other then the glow of candle light and sweetness

Speak to me not about affliction and or treasure

Hidden if these are to you, bother not, keep silent

Last night frantic I became, Love saw me and said:

I am here, clamor not, rend your garments not, be silent

I said: O love, but I am frightened of something else

Love said: There is nothing else, be silent

I will whisper secrets in your ears

Nod your head, and remain silent

A moon, a beautiful soul appeared in the path of my heart

How tender is this journey to the heart, be silent

I said: O heart who was this moon? Heart said:

It’s beyond your understanding, let it be, be silent

I said: Was this face an angel or human

Love said: Neither an angel nor a human, be silent

I said: Reveal this to me for I will be in a turmoil I cannot stand

Love said: Be in a turmoil, be silent

O your dwelling is this house of images and illusions

Leave this dwelling now, go, be silent

I said, O love be kind as a father, tell me, are these not the attributes of God?

Love said, They are, but for the love of the father, be silent

من غلام قمرم غیر قمر هیچ مگو
پیش من جز سخن شمع و شکر هیچ مگو
سخن رنج مگو جز سخن گنج مگو
ور از این بی​خبری رنج مبر هیچ مگو
دوش دیوانه شدم عشق مرا دید و بگفت
آمدم نعره مزن جامه مدر هیچ مگو
گفتم ای عشق من از چیز دگر می​ترسم
گفت آن چیز دگر نیست دگر هیچ مگو
من به گوش تو سخن​های نهان خواهم گفت
سر بجنبان که بلی جز که به سر هیچ مگو
قمری جان صفتی در ره دل پیدا شد
در ره دل چه لطیف است سفر هیچ مگو
گفتم ای دل چه مه​ست این دل اشارت می​کرد
که نه اندازه توست این بگذر هیچ مگو
گفتم این روی فرشته​ست عجب یا بشر است
گفت این غیر فرشته​ست و بشر هیچ مگو
گفتم این چیست بگو زیر و زبر خواهم شد
گفت می​باش چنین زیر و زبر هیچ مگو
ای نشسته تو در این خانه پرنقش و خیال
خیز از این خانه برو رخت ببر هیچ مگو