Dr. Khazali’s daughter: I Don’t Know Whether You Even Realized When The New Year Arrived

Zainab KHazali with her father Dr. Mehdi Khazali

Zainab KHazali with her father Dr. Mehdi Khazali

Dr. Mehdi Khazali’s son Mohamad Saleh posted the following entry on his Facebook, a note that was written by his sister on the first day of the Iranian New Year.

A note for my dad from my sister’s heart:

Today is the first day of Farvardin (March 21) and the 83rd day of your hunger strike. Because clocks are prohibited in your cell, I don’t know whether you even realized at what moment the New Year arrived (Iranian New Year, the moment the sun crosses the celestial equator).

Here, at home we set our Haftsin table (Seven S’s, the traditional Iranian New Year celebration table consisting of seven items starting with the letter “S” each), but we only had your picture here with us.

Dr. Khazali's family Haftsin, New Year 1392 (March 20, 2013)

Dr. Khazali’s family Haftsin, New Year 1392 (March 20, 2013)

“My dear father, I know that you probably prepared Haftsin for yourself there and celebrated the arrival of the New Year, just like the time that you were in the war zone and prepared your haftsin with Simchin (wire cutter), Simonov (a type of gun), sarnaizeh (spears) and sehpayeh (tripod).

Today if you didn’t have seeb (apple), instead you had your cellool (cell). If you didn’t have Sabzeh (Greens), instead you have your Green ideology.

Today, your weapon is your pen. Perhaps the deep silence in your cell is also one of your S’s. A silence that contains many roars.

You had told us that your cell is very cold (sard), and the jailers even denied you the warm clothing that we brought for you.

Your sixth S may be the soldier’s (sarbaz) foot steps that can be heard in the silence of the prison halls.

And as for the last “S”, I will place your vast as an ocean heart (sineh), your love filled heart, on the Haftsin table.

Dear father, the moment of the New Year’s arrival, I closed my eyes and placed myself inside your solitary confinement prison cell.

That same part of heaven. That same place of solitude with the Beloved. And, despite your weak and feeble condition, how you warmly and passionately embraced me and sat me at your Haftsin table.”

Mohamad Saleh Khazali

Source: Azadegan Blog


4 responses to “Dr. Khazali’s daughter: I Don’t Know Whether You Even Realized When The New Year Arrived

Leave a comment